Error parsing XSLT file: \xslt\FacebookOpenGraph.xslt Paul Barker's blog: 23 August 2013 - Looking back, and to the future, with ACFO
Cookies on Businesscar

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Business Car website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookies at any time

BusinessCar magazine website email Awards mobile

The start point for the best source of fleet information

Paul Barker's blog: 23 August 2013 - Looking back, and to the future, with ACFO

Date: 23 August 2013

Paul Barker is editor of BusinessCar

Have a read of page 14 of the current issue of BusinessCar and you'll be reminded of how far ACFO has come in the past few years under the leadership of former chairman Julie Jenner, and it's good that she's staying on at board level in a new, more strategic role that will allow the organisation to maintain the relationships it has worked so hard to build.

Jenner can certainly be considered a friend of BusinessCar, although we did have a sticky start in the exclusive first interview after she took over as chairman back in 2006.

When we met recently she pinpointed, partially in jest, that talking to the press and the ability to make one point without inadvertently making another were things she wished she had known how to do when she first took over.

I won't go into details, but some of the things said in that first interview about how she wanted to progress ACFO made for what I presume was a lively first national council meeting.

But it's worth acknowledging the success of ACFO in recent years in terms of events such as its annual awards and the lobbying of Government on behalf of business car operators.

The baton now passes into the safe hands of Damian James, who helped us judge the 2013 BusinessCar Techies. The results can be seen from page 21, but thank you to

Damian for his help and expertise, and congratulations to all the winners and those that earned Highly Commended status. And apologies and thank you to all those entrants that weren't in luck this year.