Error parsing XSLT file: \xslt\FacebookOpenGraph.xslt AFP launches new electric vehicle committee
Cookies on Businesscar

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Business Car website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookies at any time

BusinessCar magazine website email Awards mobile

The start point for the best source of fleet information

AFP launches new electric vehicle committee

Date: 29 June 2020   |   Author: Sean Keywood

Advising fleets on electrification and alternative fuels is the aim of a new committee announced by the Association of Fleet Professionals (AFP).

The Electric Vehicle, Low Carbon and Alternative Fuels committee will be led by AFP deputy chair Stewart Lightbody and vice-chaired by AFP co-chair Paul Hollick.

The AFP says its mission statement is to 'advise fleet operators how best they can make the transition from standard fuel types to electrification and other alternative fuels'.

Topics it will consider include support from central and local government, home charging policies, employee reimbursement and usage, electric highway charging, best practice for EVs and PHEVs, and alternative fuel vehicles beyond EVs.

Lightbody said: "Clearly, EVs, low carbon and alternative fuels are very much front-of-mind for fleets at the moment and we're looking to generate industry-leading thought and discussion across a wide range of relevant areas where fleet managers are looking for guidance and information.

"The calibre of committee member we've been able to attract is very impressive and we're planning to serve as an incubator for ideas that will ultimately affect not just fleet strategies but policy and action across manufacturers, government, the HMRC and the DVLA."

Other members of the committee are Denise Lane of Capita, Chris Joyce of the AFP, Steve Cuddy of Close Brothers, Eric Bristow of Schindler, Ken Needham of Foxtons, Simon King of Mitie, Dale Eynon of Defra, and Lorna McAtear of National Grid.

The EV committee is the first of seven planned by the AFP, with the others set to cover LCVs, Covid-19, government bodies and trade associations, road use and planning, risk and compliance, and future mobility steering.

Hollick said: "One of the major intentions behind the formation of the AFP was that it would enable the fleet sector to speak with a single, unified voice, in order to have the best chance of being heard at the highest levels of decision making, including across Whitehall.

"These new committees, covering what we believe to be the most important issues facing fleets at this point in time, are very much designed to serve as forums for the best new thinking in our industry, where issues and ideas can be discussed and refined into clear policy.

"We're really pleased to see that the EV, Low Carbon and Alternative Fuels committee has been able to attract some impressive names but we're still putting the other six committees together, and we'd like to hear from anyone who would like to take an active role within the AFP by participating.

"It could be that you have a special interest in one of these areas or that you simply believe that you have what it takes to make a contribution in general and would be happy to sit on any of them. We're saying, 'get in touch with us, your industry needs you.'"

Fleet managers interested in joining any of the committees have been invited to contact the AFP at 

Committee meetings will take place once every two months, with the intention that most will take place via video conferencing.